(Day 1) THE BICYCLE TOUR OF ALL THE OREGON STATE’S COASTAL OCEAN ROADS HAS STARTED on RexAdventure. [28 AUG 14]
.

Oregon Coast Bike Route web Image rlc 09 07 14

Ride that bicycle, Dude.
That is what I am doing, Bunkie.

Oregon Coast MAP rlc 09 07 14

.
This trip is to complete the last leg of a segmented coastal bicycle ride that started in 2009. That was my first ‘Touring Bicycle’ adventure and camping trip. Bicycle Touring is a completely different sport from mountain biking or bicycle road racing.

On three prior bicyle tour segments I had previously completed peddling all of the California coast from the Oregon boarder (above Crescent City)  in a southerly direction to the USA – Mexico boarder near Tijuana-San Ysidro.

In 2012, I completed the tour from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada south to the Portland Oregon Airport.

After this Oregon Coast Bicycle Tour to the California boarder has been completed, I will have ridden my bycicle The entire Pacific Coast from Canada to Mexico. That is a lot of fun miles traveled by bicycle.

Canada to Mexico Map & image rlc 09 07 14 web

Bicycle touring covers several days that includes sleeping over during the tour. The sleeping over methods can be at hotels, it can be camping and cooking or my preference is to camp along the way and only rarely stay in hotels. Most state parks charge a wopping Six ($6) US Dollars per night for bicycle travelers, backpackers or hikers. When you arrive by these methods, the camp grounds are never full like they get with ‘Car Campers’.

For more on Bicycle Touring See:
image

http:www.adventurecycling.org Post Office Box 8308, Missoula, Montana. Phone: 800 756-2453 for bicycle touring maps, books, products and information. I met one guy in Port Orford that had used the Adventure Cycling Association maps to walk accross the USA.
image
.
image

.
Car Campers are frequently ‘city slicker’ folks who want to visit nature but usually never farther than a few hundred feet from their gas-guzzeling multi-thousand pound transport cars or pickup trucks.

On the California rides, I used a ‘Bob Bicycle Trailer’ (www.bobgear.com), to carry my bike gear and my camping tent and sleeping bag. On the Vancouver BC Canada to the Portland Oregon tour, I converted my Trek road bicycle to go with two front saddle bags (paniers) and two rear saddle bags. I really like my German made Ortlieb brand sattle bags. They are designed well and are fully waterproof from the elements. It appears they are made with a canvas material that has been treated with waterproofing like a a fabrick known as Hypalon. (www.ortlieb.de)

After delaying to long, I just started planning this trip three days prior to departure by getting a free United Air Lines ‘frequent flyer” program ticket for only $80. Thanks to Kayla, my trusty Commander of Administrative Services for booking the flight.

My two staff members and I tried for several hours to find a rental car from the Portland, Oregon Airport (PDX) to drive one way to Astoria, Oregon that was supposed to cut out the 90 mile bicycle ride from the airport to allow the bicycle peddling to start at Astoria. Astoria, Oregon must be a small town place because no rental car could be found. So that is a bit of a problem because the extra distance (90 miles) will delay the estimated time to peddle accross the California border. I will need to look for alternate transportation to Astoria once I get to Portland.

image
.
Early morning at home before leaving home to peddle to the FART Train to San Francisco Airport SFO. (Bay Area Rapid Transit) (it’s not a real gas, but it sounds like a lowd, noisy, squeeling pig when you ride on their BARF trains). The reflectors on my (German Made) Ortlieb saddle bags appear to glow with the camera flash, to warn cars about the location of bicycles (pictured above). It is a nice feature for bicyling safely in the dark.

United Air’s way of doing business is to sell you a ticket with no baggage allowance. When I checked in for the flight, I was required to kick in another $120 for my ckecked in luggage. That worked our $100 for my Trek all aluminum road bike and another $20 twenty bucks for my four saddle bags that were rebagged into one duffel bag at the airport.

I made it to the check-in line on time but got bumped out of line temporarily by the ticket agent (so he could work with people who missed their original flights). This caused me to miss my original flight. Then I had to get a new flight out of San Francisco Airport. Fortunately I was able to get another flight in just two hours later than the first.

image

BART TRAIN TO SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA, USA
.
image

Bagging the bicycle at San Francisco Airport. The bicycle weighs 42 pounds. The yellow Bob Trailer Duffel bag with all four saddle bags (also known as Paniers) weighs 58 pounds. So that works out 100 pounds of ‘work’ to peddle plus the peddle pusher dude.
.
image

What the tour bike and travel bags looked like just before checking in the two pieces as luggage.
.
BIKE IN A BAG AT PORTLAND OVERSIZE LUGGAGE AREA.
 20140828_124154

I was supposed to remove my bicycle peddles before putting the bicycle in my Arkel travel bag for airline transport. I could not remove the peddles and nothing was damaged on the airline flight from San Francisco to Portland Oregon.
.
image
.
IT IS ODD TO SEE LUGGAGE WITH BLINKING RED LIGHTS SHOWING THROUGH THE BAG.
image
.

Watch “Red Bicycle Tail Light in Airline Luggage is Rare” on RexAdventureTube.

.
Red Bicycle Tail Light in Airline Luggage is Rare: http://youtu.be/ttlynhkqQGY
.

.
The bicycle after reassembled in Portland Oregon.   It’s time to hit the road.
image

Had problem with the kick stand that took a bit of mechanical creativity to fix.

Landed at Portland Oregon, assembled my bicycle, and went about solving the transport problem. I asked 2 or 3 rental car places if I could rent a car and leave it in Astoria, but they did not offer that service.

An airport worker suggested taking the MAX train to downtown Portland for the Grey Hound-Dog Bus station, which I did after giving up on cars. I took the MAX train Red Line until the ‘Rose / Moda / Convention Center’ the the MAX Yellow Line Train to downtown Portland
image
.
image
.

.
Sights from the Max Train Ride from Portland Airport to downtown Portland.

.
image
.

image

.

After reaching downtown Portland on the Max Train, I rode my bicycle the rest of a few blocks to the Grey Hound-Dog bus station (GreyHound). They sold me a $18 ticket from Portland to Astoria.

The service rep. could not answer if I had to paper box my bike for the ride or not. If I got the wrong answer, I would not be allowed on the bus and wouda been stuckaroo in Portland and wasted a valuable day.

I called back to my office and my talented paralegal, Tamara went to work and got the answer in short order like she always does. She can find any law or anything else with her research skills. I found that I did not need to box my bicycle but it cost $5 more for an add on ticket and only 3 bicycles are aloud for each bus trip. I went a few doors down to the Amtrak station and did the deal.
The inside of the Amtrak. Train/Bus station in Portland.
image

I took the bus to Astoria and rested on the ride. They make you stow your own bicycle in the cargo belly of the bus. I think the do-it-yourself-cargo-placement could have been put in effect so that only you touched your bicycle so you can only blame yourself if is damaged enroute. Fine with me.
.

A few minutes ago I got settled into my lodging in Astoria, Oregon at the Washington State border. (Thursday 28 August 2014 at 21:40 hrs, up since 04:00 hrs). I stayed at the recently upgraded, Norblad Hotel and Hostel. 433 -14th street, Astoria 97183. (503) 325-6989. It worked out well for me.
.

image
.
Michael the helpful manager of the Norblad Hostel and Hotel in Astoria on the Oregon side of at the Washington State Border. image

.
.
.
.

Oregon Coast Highway, Redwood Highway, Coast Highway ELEVATIONS GRAPH 09 07 14
.
Oregon Coast Highway, Redwood Highway, Coast Highway Elevations Graph. With a fully loaded touring bicycle, going up hills means you will be huffing and puffing to get the needed oxigen to make it to the top of the hill.
.

.

.
.
.
.
.
.
To be continued on (Day 2).
.
.
The following video material will give you additional information on Bicycling the Oregon Coast.
==========
Bicycling the Oregon Coast: Tillamook to Florence: http://youtu.be/3QE9JTHtNzo
.

==========
Oregon Coast Bike Trip: http://youtu.be/dgiD-Qs4vJU
.

==========

Oregon Coast Ride: Bicycling Highway 101: http://youtu.be/wwnzvokzQ08
.

==========

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.

